Ride-sharing apps have been one of the most popular ways to get around in New York. With that in mind, it is important to recognize your rights under Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage in case you are involved in an accident. Continue reading and reach out to a skilled New York City ride-sharing accident attorney to discuss your options.
What is Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage for car accidents in New York?
If you are involved and/or injured in a car accident while riding in an Uber/Lyft, you may be entitled to recover compensation for the burdens you have sustained as a result. Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage includes the following:
- Period 0: Period 0 is when the driver was not logged into the rideshare app at the time the accident took place. When this happens Uber or Lyft do not provide coverage, as the accident did not happen on their time.
- Period 1: When the driver is logged in to the app but has not yet accepted a ride, the company will provide liability coverage for an accident that is the driver’s fault. In this case, Uber or Lyft will contribute up to $50,000 per person harmed in the accident, $100,000 in total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability.
- Period 2: At this point, the Uber/Lyft driver has accepted a trip and is en route to pick up a passenger when the accident occurred. Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage now increases to $1 million.
- Period 3: For when the passenger is in the Uber/Lyft car at the time of the accident and was injured. Liability coverage goes up to $1 million, plus limited coverage for damage to the driver’s car and uninsured motorists’ coverage.
Furthermore, New York City Uber and Lyft drivers are controlled by the NYC Taxi and Limousine Commission, which suggests that all Uber and Lyft vehicles within the city’s jurisdiction require a commercial insurance policy. As a result of this, all accidents that happen on rides originating in New York City are covered by the commercial insurance policies maintained by the Uber or Lyft driver.
How long do I have to file a claim?
If you would like to seek legal action for your injuries, it is critical to note that there is a deadline. This deadline is referred to as a statute of limitations. In New York, the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim is generally three years from the date of the accident.
If you were hurt as a result of another party’s negligence, do not hesitate to reach out to our firm to discuss your case. Our legal team will work tirelessly to ensure you obtain the compensation you need to move forward.
Contact Our New York City Firm
If you have been injured in a New York City accident, Swerling Law is here to help. Contact Swerling Law today to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.